top of page

W. E. Wood Award - Nominations close 31st May 2024

With support from the Centre for Water and Spatial Science (CWSS) and the Centre for Environmental Economics and Policy (CEEP) at the University of Western Australia, the W.E. Wood Award is being restarted in 2024 after a gap of 20 years, at the initiative of the previous Award winners and to coincide with the centenary of the first publication on Australian salinity processes.

The W.E. Wood award previously recognised outstanding research on the understanding and management of dryland salinity. The focus is now being expanded to include research into any aspects of water processes and management, and water-related land management, in the Western Australian landscape and the implications for agriculture, environment and society.

The award is open for researchers from all disciplines and any organisation. The winner will receive a trophy and be invited to present a public lecture.

“Research has derived some practical and economic solutions to reverse salinity, but it remains an ongoing struggle and requires innovation.” — CEEP's Co-Director, Professor David Pannel

Download the nomination form and either self-nominate or nominate a worthy colleague. Please apply by May 31, 2024 by emailing your nomination form to: 

Nomination Form WE Wood Award 2024 v3
Download DOC • 36KB

Past winners (and their affiliation(s) at the time of their award):

  • Glenn Walker - CSIRO

  • Richard George - Department of Agriculture, WA.

  • Tom Hatton - CSIRO

  • Ed Barrett-Lennard - Department of Agriculture WA and CRC for Plant-Based Management of Dryland Salinity

  • David Pannell - University of Western Australia and CRC for Plant-Based Management of Dryland Salinity


For more information:


Dave Pannell, CEEP Co-Director:

Nik Callow, CWSS Director:


bottom of page